You signed in with another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.You signed out in another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.You switched accounts on another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.Dismiss alert
{{ message }}
Repository navigation
Add meta tag to homepage to indicate whether it can be overwritten #936
When a user creates a new account, we generate their homepage from default-templates/new-account/index.html.
A problem is that, when default-templates/new-account/index.html gets updated, users keep their old homepage.
However, some users might want that, and it shouldn't be up to the server to decide what they want. Some might prefer the new page.
I propose to add something like the following to the homepage template:
<!-- Delete the next line if you do not want your homepage to be automatically updated whenever a new version becomes available. --><metaname="solid-allow-automatic-updates" content="true">
That way, we can update people to the latest version, unless they opt out.
Another alternative might be to use some kind of templating system, where for example the new-account/index.html would just contain a reference to an internal Solid file, perhaps with some parameters.
This would allow users to make (partial) changes to their views, and still remain up-to-date with the built-in Solid views if they want to.
This would require some more work than the <meta> approach though.
Activity
megoth commentedon Nov 14, 2018
I like this solution better than #853; if we choose this approach, we can close that one.
rubensworks commentedon Nov 14, 2018
Another alternative might be to use some kind of templating system, where for example the
new-account/index.htmlwould just contain a reference to an internal Solid file, perhaps with some parameters.This would allow users to make (partial) changes to their views, and still remain up-to-date with the built-in Solid views if they want to.
This would require some more work than the
<meta>approach though.megoth commentedon Nov 14, 2018
This issue also relates to #688 (also mentioned in #853, but thought it prudent to mention here directly as well).
Ryuno-Ki commentedon Nov 15, 2018
Hm, what happens if the user allowed an update - and then the next comes in?
That is, would users have to edit the file if they want to opt-in/-out?
Alternatively you could set the
contentto a version (like5.0?) to estimate how much would break…RubenVerborgh commentedon Nov 15, 2018
megoth commentedon Nov 28, 2018
As there is a PR merged for this (#953), I hope it's ok for me to close this issue.